A (Mostly) Full-Time Novelist

I write for my day job. And even though writing nonfiction exercises a completely different set of mental muscles than fiction-writing does, sometimes I feel like I’ve run out of words by the end of the day.

So I’m really happy that, for the next five weeks, I get to put novel-writing first. I’m revising the manuscript for the sequel to Deadtown (working title: Creature Comforts), which is due at my publisher on 8/1. And it’s my primary project for the month of July. (I’ll have a few other things going on, but those can wait until the end of the day.) For that month, I get to live my long-held dream of being a full-time novelist. I intend to enjoy every minute of it — the frustrations as well as the pleasures.

When you’re living a dream, even just for a little while, you should savor it.

About nancyholzner


2 responses to “A (Mostly) Full-Time Novelist

  • courtneydiles

    My thoughts exactly. I will treasure every moment as a part-time author, and then full-time as well. =) What kind of novel is Deadtown? Creature Comforts?
    ~Courtney

    • nancyholzner

      Hi Courtney,

      They’re both urban fantasies. Deadtown is the first in the series, and Creature Comforts is a sequel. (Creature Comforts is my working title; my publisher will probably change it.) The series is set in an alternative version of Boston; my protagonist, Vicky Vaughn, is a shapeshifter who exterminates other people’s personal demons for a living. She’s part of a race called the Cerddorion, who trace their lineage back to the Welsh goddess Ceridwen. The novel has a lot of action, some humor, and just a touch of romance.

Leave a Reply

