ARCs Are Here

ARCOn Friday I got some ARCs of Deadtown from my publisher. When I mentioned the news on Facebook, a couple of my friends wanted to know what ARCs are. The initials stand for Advance Review Copy, and basically an ARC is uncorrected page proofs bound in book form. There are still some typos in there and some small inconsistencies that won’t appear in the final book.

As you can see, the ARC version of my book doesn’t have the ultra-cool, eye-catching cover that the final version will have. I guess that means that the story will have to stand on its own with reviewers. But isn’t that always the case? Even if a cover catches your eye in a bookstore, if the first few pages don’t live up to the cover’s promise, you’re not going to buy that book.

Getting the ARCs was fun because it’s the first time with this book that I can say, “See this? I wrote it.” Yes, I’ve been carrying one around with me all weekend.

About nancyholzner


Leave a Reply

