Deadtown’s Sequel Has a Title

In my contract with Penguin, the first two books in my Victory Vaughn series are identified as UNTITLED ZOMBIE #1 and UNTITLED ZOMBIE #2. Deadtown‘s working title was Zombie Town, so those titles—or non-titles, really—made sense. Kinda cracked me up as I signed the contract, though.

My working title for the sequel has been Creature Comforts. If you’ve read Deadtown, you’ll know that’s the monster bar in the New Combat Zone where Vicky and her friends hang out. I used it as the working title because that’s where the novel’s inciting incident—the event that sets the plot in motion—takes place. But I always figured that we’d change the title along the way. I wanted something that had the same feel as Deadtown: one word, two syllables, strong impact.

Now I can announce that UNTITLED ZOMBIE #2 has a title:

What do you think? I like it. Not only does it sound like a followup to Deadtown, Hellforged comes straight out of the story: It’s the name of a weapon that Vicky must learn to use to fight a kind of demon she’s never encountered before. I’m not a big fan of titles that simply sound cool or link to other titles in a series but have no relationship to the story in the current book. So I’m happy with this choice.

Hellforged. Yeah, I like the sound of it.

About nancyholzner


20 responses to “Deadtown’s Sequel Has a Title

  • Nora-Adrienne

    This title sounds like it fits the storyline and characters perfectly.

    • nancyholzner

      Thanks! I’m happy with it. It took a long time to settle on a title for Deadtown, so I was happy that the process was quick and easy this time–with a good result.

  • van p.

    Great title! when can we expect the release of the hellforged?

  • Fiction Vixen

    Sweet! I like it and I’m looking forward to reading Hell Forged. 🙂

  • Michele

    Awesome title!!!! Looking forward to it coming out and cant’w wait to read i!

  • Michele

    Wow I just noticed that Hellforged wasn’t going to be out until next January that seems like forever!! “Good things come to those who wait?!”!!!

    • nancyholzner

      I guess that’s the best way to think of it, Michele. 🙂 It’s a long wait, but in the meantime I’m working with my editor to make it the best book I can.

  • Jackie B.

    Nice clean name and yes it fits the book setting and what you have created for us already in Deadtown, January 2011 is yes a very long way away and in the meantime maybe my TBR will keep me occupied during the wait! Thanks for sharing the info Nancy.

    jackie b central texas

    • nancyholzner

      Thanks, Jackie. I’m glad you think the title sounds recognizable as a followup to Deadtown. Now, all I need is for the art department to give the cover the same feel.

  • Michele

    Have you or would you ever do some short stories with the characters in Deadtown or Hellforged, in an anthology series for urban fantasy?

    • nancyholzner

      I’m working on some that I plan to post here between now and when Hellforged comes out. I wrote a New Year’s Eve story featuring Vicky for Book Obsessed. It’s a prequel to Deadtown.

      Now that I’ve survived author review on a nonfiction project (there was some question for a while there LOL), I’ll also be posting some snippets from Hellforged and Book 3 as I work on those. So please check back!

  • Denise K. Rago

    I like the title. I read Deattown over vacation and loved it. Once I got into it I could not put it down. The characters just jump off the page and are so real I feel I know them. Perhaps a romance between Vicky and Mr. Costello?

    • nancyholzner

      Thanks so much, Denise! Vicky’s romantic life will definitely heat up as the series continues. I don’t want to say too much more than that at this point 🙂

  • paulaweston

    I like it!

    (The grammar Nazi in me thinks a hyphen might be nice … but I realise this doesn’t work for the single strong word title you’re after, and I also won’t lose sleep over it! And really, Deadtown isn’t a “real” word either, and it works beautifully. OK, I’ve talked myself round.)

    🙂

    • nancyholzner

      Hi, Paula!

      As a former English teacher and copyeditor, I’ve got more than a little of my own inner grammar Nazi, so I know what you mean. 🙂 But I was also a medievalist, and that part of me gleefully shouts, “Need a name? Make up a new compound noun!” 😀

      • Paula Weston

        Hi Nancy,

        Your compound nouns are all good with me! (And just wait, in a few years, Hellforged will be in the dictionary… hopefully rightfully attributed to you.)

        Can’t wait to read it, by the way. 🙂

  • Keith

    Very cool. Forge on, Nancy.

  • Escapist Newsletter (Vol 4 Issue 3) | Literary Escapism

    […] Holzner has announced the title to the next Deadtown novel.  Book two will now be known as Hellforged, which will be out January […]

Leave a Reply

