Getting Ready for RavenCon

In a couple of weeks I’ll be heading to Richmond, Virginia, for RavenCon 2010. It’s happening the weekend of April 9-11, and it looks like a lot of fun. Besides writing and books, there are tracks and events for film, gaming, filking, art, costuming, podcasting, and science.

RavenCon’s Author Guest of Honor is Rachel Caine! (Excuse me while I have a fangirl moment: Squeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!) I’m super-excited that I’ll be on a couple of panels with her. I’ve been a fan ever since the first Weather Wardens book came out.

Here’s my schedule (subject to change, of course):

Friday, April 9, 8:00 P.M

What’s Next for Urban Fantasy?

From vampires to werewolves to fairies and beyond—what myth hasn’t this genre explored, and what would you like to see?

–Mike Allen, Rachel Caine, Nancy Holzner (moderator), and Laura Underwood

Friday, April 9, 11:00 P.M

The Changing Face—Body, Language, Imageryof Feminism in SF and Fantasy

Feminism has been introduced in literature in various ways. But as with everything, time mandates that in order to keep the interest of the audience, some things have to change. Or do they? Are there ways in which feminism can displayed without the “in your face” use of the stereotypical woman who can kick every alien’s ass and yet still be womanly?

–Gregory Eatroff, Laurel Anne Hill, Nancy Holzner, Laura Underwood (moderator)

Saturday, April 10, 9:00 A.M.

So You Want to Write a Book . . .

From conception to working habits to outlining to wrapping up with a great ending. Authors share their secrets and answer your questions about the book writing process.

–Rachel Caine, Laura Cory-Haywood, Nancy Holzner, Jim Stratton (moderator)

Saturday, April 10, 1:00 P.M.

To Agent or Not to Agent: That Is the Question

Do you or don’t you need one? The panel discusses the pros and cons from participants that fall into both categories.

–Nancy Holzner, Michael Kabongo, Jim Stratton, Leona Wisoker (moderator)

Sunday, April 11, 10:00 A.M.

Workshop: Breathing Life into Your Writing

A two-hour workshop that focuses on staying close to the point-of-view of characters and revealing the story world through their five senses, thereby creating authentic, believable characters.  Discussion also about story structure, believable dialogue, creating forward momentum, and strong/weak verb usage.

–Laurel Anne Hill, assisted by Nancy Holzner, Barbara Ish, and Allen Wold

I’ll also be doing a book signing on Sunday at 1:00 P.M.

Looks like I’ll be busy! I’m not sure how I managed to sign up for one panel at 11:00 P.M. and another the next morning at 9:00—I must have been paying attention to topics, not times. But that’s OK; they’re both great topics.

I’m writing up a list of questions for the panel I’ll moderate: What’s Next for Urban Fantasy? If you have any questions you want me to ask Rachel Caine or the other panelists about that topic, post them here or email me and I’ll add them to my list.

About nancyholzner


2 responses to “Getting Ready for RavenCon

  • paulaweston

    Hi Nancy,
    Program sounds great!
    Here’s a possible panel question for your consideration:
    Are writers tempted to try and preempt trends, or just go with their gut and write what works for them, focusing on characters and plot? (I’m pretty sure I know the answer to this one, but hopefully it might spark some interesting discussion about successes and failures at guessing urban fantasy trends…)
    Hey, any chance you’ll be touring to Australia any time soon? We have cool festivals too… 🙂
    Paula

  • nancyholzner

    Thanks, Paula, that’s a great question. I’ll be interested to hear the replies.

    I’d *love* to tour Australia some day. Something to save up for… 🙂

Leave a Reply

