I’m at Book Chick City Today

Book Chick City runs a fascinating series called “Where Stories Are Made,” in which writers share photos of their work spaces and talk about their writing process. Past authors include Carrie Vaughn, Ilona Andrews, and Anton Strout, to name just a few.

Today it’s my turn. For a peek into my home office and how I write, please stop by Where Stories Are Made.

About nancyholzner


6 responses to “I’m at Book Chick City Today

  • Beq

    I love your office! I wish mine was so organized. My desk area is in the basement which isn’t the most creative place for someone to work although it’s a great place to play.

    Maybe that’s why I do pen & paper for my initial drafts. I can take them anywhere. 🙂

  • nancyholzner

    Thanks, Beq! Having a window to gaze out of is, IMO, an essential part of the creative process. (I used to have a basement office myself. They can be great for concentration.)

    I write everything on the computer, so I’m grateful for the netbook Steve gave me for Christmas, because I do take my laptop with me just about everywhere. The netbook is much lighter than the old laptop I used to lug around.

  • Beq

    Oh yeah. Love the netbook I have one too but taking it to work…not so good. My locker barely holds it and I wont leave it out in the break room as customers have been known to wander in…sometimes they’re just lost, other times though…stuff has been stolen.

    So the notebook and pens work so much better in my situation. Not exactly high theft items. 🙂 When I’m not working, on my months off, the netbook is my buddy. As well ye ol’ faithful pen and paper. 😀

    • nancyholzner

      I used to write out first drafts longhand, but once I got my first laptop I switched to computer only. One thing I liked about using pen-and-ink for the first draft was that I often made some really good revisions when I typed the text into the computer. But now that I work on the computer exclusively, I doubt I could ready my own handwriting anymore.

      And in response to your other comment, I think window seats are part of just about every writer’s dream house. (Readers, too!)

  • Beq

    And I still want your window seat! Unfortunately my house is built all wrong for that.

Leave a Reply

