All Work and No Play…

…makes Nancy a dull girl. It’s true. But sometimes you can’t do much about it. I’m currently working 80-hour weeks to meet a tight deadline on a nonfiction project. It’s a good project, and I’m grateful to have it. But for the next 3-4 weeks it’ll eat up all my time.

When I switched from being employed to being self-employed, I had many of the typical fantasies about working at home. I could be my own boss, set my own hours, take time off in the middle of the work day if I felt like it. And those things are true—usually. I love working at home. I’m not a morning person, for example, and it was always hard for me to be in a classroom or an office by eight in the morning. And even after the thrill of working in my PJs wore off, it’s still nice to throw on a pair of jeans and a sweater and be all dressed for work.

But there’s a flip side. When you work at home, the work is always there. Yes, I can close my office door and go downstairs, but it’s not uncommon for me to head back upstairs at 10:00 p.m. to put in a couple more hours before I go to bed. And weekends are regular workdays (except on weekends I’m less likely to get email I have to answer). I took Sunday off for Mother’s Day, but that’s my last day off for a month.  When I’m getting squeezed by a deadline like I am now, there’s not much choice. My publisher is relying on me to help them meet their schedule, and it’s in everyone’s interest for me to hold up my end.

But for a while, everything else falls by the wayside. I’ve had to ask for an extension on my Hellforged revisions. A couple of other creative projects are on the back burner—they’re simmering away, but I’d rather be stirring up the pot. And I haven’t had time to post much here or interact with people on Facebook and Twitter.

I’m not complaining. Nonfiction lets me make a good living as a writer. And rushing to meet deadlines is part of the feast-or-famine nature of freelancing. It’s part of the writing life, and I love the writing life. Most of the time. But I can’t really think about that now; I’ve gotta get back to work.

🙂

About nancyholzner


4 responses to “All Work and No Play…

  • liveyourwritingdream

    You can do this! 🙂

    I find that writing nonfiction is a refreshing break from my fiction, and then I’m glad to get back into my fiction worlds. I tend to think of this as a long commercial break (and the pays not so bad either).

    Take care,
    June

  • nancyholzner

    Thanks, June. I like your attitude. I do know what you mean about switching back and forth, but I wish they didn’t pile up on top of each other (and on top of me LOL)!

  • Beq

    Keep at in Nancy. The rest of us will still be here when you get a chance to resurface!

    Going to try to get some writing in this morning. After I pay the bills. 🙂

    Catch up with you later,

    Beq

    • nancyholzner

      I’m hanging in there. Three more weeks of intensity, and then I’ll have some breathing room and can turn to the fun stuff. Of course, right now I’m being flooded with ideas for future projects, all demanding, “Write me! Write me NOW!!!”

      Paying the bills … that *always* seems to postpone the writing. (It’s certainly why I’m pushing on this project now.) Anyway, have fun!

Leave a Reply

