I write like . . .

Have you seen this writer’s meme? I pasted in the first chapter of Deadtown and then, just for good measure, an excerpt from Hellforged. Here’s what I got:

I write like
Stephen King

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Now if only I could earn like him . . . 🙂

About nancyholzner


4 responses to “I write like . . .

  • Indigo

    I put in a few pages from my current WIP and came up with the same answer. Funny thing is, I also put in a blog post and got back – Mario Puzo. Talk about versatile writing.

    I already knew I had two very different styles of writing. I don’t seem to be able to get the same rhythm with my blog post as I do my WIP. I’m still trying to figure out, whether that’s a good thing or not. (Hugs) Indigo

  • nancyholzner

    Hi Indigo,

    I thought about putting in a sample from my tech writing, but then I decided I didn’t wanna know. 🙂 But I think it’s fascinating that you got two such different results. They’re both terrific writers, but in very different ways. Do you think the difference in rhythm you talk about is long vs. short form or “serious” writing (for lack of a better term) vs. informal writing?

  • Indigo

    I tend to (at least until recently) write in a more poetic prose on my blog entries. Hints of mystery about what I’m up to and writing about. With my WIP (writing any book for that matter) you have to pare down the poetic. You can get away with it to an extent, but it’s more important to carry the story without getting carried away in flowery prose (at least for me).

    I actually had someone who has read both, come away surprised at the difference. I find it amusing. Honestly, I don’t think my blog readers realize the depths I can scrounge to find a thrilling story. (Kind of waiting to reveal that side of me with a book deal.) (Hugs)Indigo

    • nancyholzner

      That’s really interesting, Indigo. I think it’s great for one’s writing to spend time working with different styles. I do tend to agree with you about book-length fiction. I love beautiful writing, but in a novel I’d rather get pulled into the “fictional dream” than pause and admire breath-taking sentences, if you know what I mean. But there’s definitely a place for both (and to be honest there are books I’ve loved because their writing is gorgeous–but the story has to be there, as well.)

      Ages ago, I used to write poetry. You’ve got me thinking it’d be fun to do some of that again, just to keep my prose fresh.

Leave a Reply

