A murder(?) of crows

Photo by Jack Wolf

A huge flock of crows seems to have settled in my neighborhood.  On Monday afternoon I looked out my window to see dozens of crows circling in the sky and roosting in trees. I saw the same thing yesterday when I went out at dusk.  Last night, my husband and I were sitting in the kitchen when a raucous cawing made us stop our conversation and stare at each other. I opened the back door and looked outside to see hundreds of crows flying over our house. It lasted for only a  minute or two, but it was so loud we had to raise our voices inside to be heard over the noise.

If you’ve seen the cover of Hellforged, you know that crows feature in my new novel. So I like to think that these crows have been stopping by to say, “Congrats and good luck!” I’m not sure how you’d say that in crow-ish, but it probably sounds a lot like what we heard last night.

Crows are intelligent, social, fascinating birds. And it looks like a large flock has chosen my neighborhood as its winter roosting site.

Still, I can’t help but wonder about the timing. Does anybody know anything about what crows symbolize or portend? I know what they represent in Hellforged, and I sure hope this flock has nothing to do with that . . .

About nancyholzner


4 responses to “A murder(?) of crows

  • GlamKitty

    How interesting! It seems both felicitous and slightly chilling… in other words, pretty much perfect! 😉

  • Deborah Blake

    Maybe you should start stocking up on slate?

    I tend to see crows in threes, sitting in the bare trees outside my house. To me, they are symbols of the goddess (although maybe not in Her nicest sweetest forms) and they seem protective. So let’s just go with protective, eh 🙂

    • nancyholzner

      The front walk to my house is slate, now that you mention it. Good to remember it’s there!

      That’s really cool about three crows symbolizing the goddess. One for each aspect? And I like the idea of protection. I’ll take it! 🙂

      I know that both Auburn and Syracuse have taken steps to drive out big flocks of roosting crows in recent years, so I guess it’s Ithaca’s turn. I like them, though. To see them flying and sitting in trees at dusk is awe-inspiring.

Leave a Reply

