Goodbye, 2010

I always think of the end of the year as a time of lists. Everyone is writing their “Top 10” or “10 Worst” lists for the previous year and making lists of predictions for the year to come.

I don’t usually read “Best of” lists, but here’s one I couldn’t resist sharing. Scroll down, and you’ll see why. 🙂

It’s good to stop and take time to reflect, to consider where you’ve been, where you’re heading, and where you are right now. I try to do this throughout the year, not just at the end of December. Still, it can be easy to get caught up in the demands of day-to-day life, and it’s better to reflect once a year than not at all. Otherwise, it’s easy to feel like you’re always running or getting pushed from one thing to the next.

For me, 2010 was a year of peaks and valleys. It was exciting to see Deadtown come out and do so well—thanks to everyone who read the book.  Other high points included meeting readers and writers at conventions (and getting my copy of Magic Bleeds signed by Ilona Andrews), spending time with family, and extending my Deadtown series by at least two more books. Low points included multiple family illnesses, a death, and having to cancel our vacation. It’s all part of life, though, and you keep moving forward.

How was your 2010? Are you glad or sad to see it end? At this time next year, what do you hope to see as you reflect on the end of 2011?

About nancyholzner


2 responses to “Goodbye, 2010

  • Tamsen

    2010 was a good year for me. My first professional job! My first promotion! But I think that increase in responsibility definitely took a toll on other areas of my life. Working 6 – 7 days a week increased my stress level and decreased the amount of sleep I got so one of the things I’d like to focus on in 2011 is working on giving myself more me time! While 2010 was a good year, I’m definitely ready for 2011 and excited to see what it brings!

    • nancyholzner

      … one of the things I’d like to focus on in 2011 is working on giving myself more me time!

      Me too, Tamsen! I like this kind of resolution better than grim determination to improve in some way, such as eating better or getting more exercise. (Although I’ll admit I could benefit from both of those.) I hope you’ll be able to snatch more time for yourself. Building it into your schedule, when possible, helps to keep the days from slipping away from you.

Leave a Reply

