Boston, here I come!

This weekend, I’ll be at Arisia in Boston. It’s my first time at this con, and I’m really excited. I’m on panels with several writers I admire, including Guest of Honor Kelley Armstrong! While I’m in Boston, I also plan to visit some of my old haunts and check out a few sites in Bloodstone to make sure I get the descriptions right.

But the main thing is Arisia. Here’s my schedule. If you’ll be there, seek me out!

Friday, 1/14

8:00 p.m.: Flirting with the Mainstream: Paranormal Romance

Paranormal romance has staying power on store bookshelves and has taken plenty of heat for diluting SF/F. However, it also has a crossover appeal to women who may not ordinarily be the audience for SF/F. Let’s chat about overlapping genres, mixing stories, and the best paranormal romances for the new reader.

Vikki Ciaffone (mod), Victoria Janssen, Nancy Holzner, Gail Z. Martin, Kelley Armstrong, Seanan McGuire

Saturday, 1/15

11:00 a.m.: Character Dynamics

You have your cast of characters, now how do you get them to interact the way you want? How can you make you them fight, love, and laugh at each other convincingly? How do you make changes in a relationship between characters come about naturally, rather than seeming forced? Our panelists will elucidate on the finer points of getting your characters to behave with each other on the page the way you imagine them in your head.

Nancy Holzner (mod), Gordon Linzner, Jeanne Cavelos, Ellen Kushner, Victoria Janssen

5:00 p.m.: From First Draft to Second Draft

What’s your writing process? Is the first draft a private letter to yourself while the second draft is more accessible to others? How does the fiction change through the writing and revision process? Our panelists discuss their methods for rewriting.

Ellen Kushner (mod), Victoria Janssen, Nancy Holzner, Kelley Armstrong, Rita Oakes

Sunday, 1/16

9:30 a.m.: My Friend Wrote a Book, Do I Have to Buy It?

Etiquette for friends of authors and other creators. How to support their endeavors without going broke or feeling you have to attend every signing. What to do when you don’t like their creations and are asked (or feel it’s expected) to give a reaction?

Elaine Isaak (mod), Genevieve Iseult Eldredge, Felicitas Ivey, Victoria Janssen, Nancy Holzner

12:30 p.m.: Autograph session with Nancy Holzner and James Macdonald

About nancyholzner


10 responses to “Boston, here I come!

  • Deborah Blake (Witchy Betty)

    WOW–this looks great. Look at everyone you’re going to be rubbing elbows with! I’m a wee bit jealous. (If by wee you mean a lot.) I wish I could be there. And let me know what you learn in the Sunday discussion…I have issues there πŸ™‚

    Have a great time! And really looking forward to lunch after, where I will be able to pick your brain.

  • June

    Have a safe trip, Nancy! And enjoy the conference and all the people. Sounds like fun…

    • nancyholzner

      Thanks, June! If the current forecast doesn’t change, it looks like I’ll avoid driving through the snow. I think the con will be a blast. SF/F people know how to have a good time!

  • Keith

    Have fun. Nice energy to Boston. My partner lived in the city 25 years, and I lived there and nearby several years. Give my best to Vicky if you make it into the new Combat Zone.

  • victoriajanssen

    We are on FOUR panels together. Is it fate?! *lol*

  • Diane

    Wow! You’ll be in some great company on those panels–Ellen Kushner and Kelley Armstrong! Have a great time, and I’m sure you’ll do an excellent job representing the paranormal genre. Wish I could be there, but I’ll be thinking of you while reading my just-arrived copy of Hellforged.

    • nancyholzner

      Kelley and Ellen were both great–interesting to listen to and great co-panelists. Seanan McGuire was also a lot of fun. And I was on four panels with Victoria Janssen, who writes paranormal erotic romance. I didn’t know her work before but I’m reading one of her books now.

Leave a Reply

