Back from Arisia

I’m back from Arisia, grateful that I made the trip between storms: snow last week, ice this week–and yes, I do love living in the northeast, why do you ask? 🙂

It was a great time. All of the panels I participated in were fun and informative.  I also got to walk around the part of Boston I imagine as Deadtown and scope out a few sites from the book I’m working on now. I would’ve liked more time to do that, but it was COLD–especially walking along Summer Street from the hotel (in the Seaport area) to South Station–so I’m pleased that I got to look at some sites and avoid pneumonia. Good compromise.

My favorite part of the con were the demonstrations put on by folks from the Higgins Armory Museum in Worcester, MA. The photos below are from a demonstration of Renaissance swordplay techniques. For each style of fighting, the demonstrators would go through the attack/defense at speed, and then slow down, stopping at each step to explain what they were doing. They’d finish by showing the maneuvers at speed again. It was fascinating, especially to someone whose protagonist uses a flaming sword. (Note: None of the swords in the demonstrations were actually aflame. 🙂 )

Fighting with long swords, German style

Rapiers and daggers, using a technique described by Giacomo di Grassi

A lady defends her honor

The Higgins Armory Museum offers classes in swordplay, making me wish I lived closer to Worcester. Even so, I might plan a trip in the spring to check out one of their drop-in workshops.

About nancyholzner


4 responses to “Back from Arisia

  • Deborah Blake (Witchy Betty)

    Sounds like you had a great time. And I love the sword-play 🙂

    Talk to any interesting authors?

    • nancyholzner

      The sword play was so cool. I really want to take a workshop now. Worcester’s only an hour and a half from my parents’ house, so I might plan on it when the driving’s a bit more reliable. (We got NO precipitation here today, but it sounds like it’s a mess in Albany.)

      I really enjoyed talking with Ellen Kushner, Victoria Janssen, and Genevieve Iseult Eldredge. I’ll post more on some of the writing-related stuff this week.

      And I may have spoken too soon about avoiding pneumonia. I feel like I’m getting a chest cold. I NEVER get sick, and this is the second illness this year already?!? I think I need to stay in my writer cave where it’s safe and free of germs. 🙂

  • victoriajanssen

    It was great to meet you, and I look forward to seeing you again!

    Planning on Readercon?

    • nancyholzner

      Great to meet you, too! I’m enjoying The Duke and the Pirate Queen. 🙂

      I’m hoping to go to Readercon–waiting to hear from the programming folks.

Leave a Reply

