Family time

Last week, on my birthday, my daughter Tamsen arrived for a visit. A few years ago, she went to school in Austin, TX and now she lives there. My parents and I all have birthdays within two weeks of each other, and Tamsen’s idea was to fly to my town on my birthday and stay a couple of nights. Then we’d drive out to Massachusetts, where my parents live, and surprise my parents with her visit.

My daughter, Tamsen

It was great. We ate out, went shopping, and took walks. My parents were surprised and thrilled to see her. (Yes, my mom got all teary-eyed.) We stayed two nights, went out for dinner, and had a family party.

Surprise!

Dinner with my parents and daughter

Tamsen was supposed to fly back to Austin on Monday, but a late-winter snowstorm dumped 13 inches of snow on Ithaca and canceled her flight. So we got to spend an extra day together, which felt like the best gift of all. She helped me shovel out (an activity she doesn’t get to enjoy very often in Texas!), and then we traipsed through the snow to go out for some well-earned refreshment and a farewell celebration. The sky was all snowed out, so we got up around 4:00 a.m. yesterday morning to get her to the airport for her rebooked flight. (That’s why I missed my Dark Central Station post yesterday. I’ve never been a morning person, and I was completely discombobulated for the rest of the day.)

Snow day!

As the mother of a grown-up daughter who no longer lives at home, I’ve been focused on building my writing career in recent years. So it was wonderful to take a few days just for family time. Because the people you love really are what it’s all about.

About nancyholzner


4 responses to “Family time

  • Deborah Blake

    Sounds wonderful! I just got to spent time with my family out in CA, and it was a real treat. First time both my sisters and I had been together in the same place in 6-7 years.

    • nancyholzner

      It’s hard when family members become spread out. One of my sisters moved from Virginia to Florida this year, which makes it a long trip for her to get together with the rest of the family. We’re hoping for a full reunion this summer.

  • liveyourwritingdream

    Wonderful that you could spent time with your daughter and parents, Nancy! And that extra day must have felt like a blessing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    June

    • nancyholzner

      Thanks, June! It did, and she didn’t even seem too stressed out by getting back a day late. It was fun for both of us. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

